Classics from the Queue: Annie Hall

I love movies – and I love things that are delivered to my apartment. So I naturally love Netflix. I also love lists, so I have over the course of 5 years managed to fill my queue (that means there are 500 DVDs on it for those of you that don’t use Netflix.) I fully acknowledge that this is ridiculous, but it has allowed me to start to work through the list of movies I have been lying about having seen for years.

I love movies and I love talking with people about movies, but I get really frustrated the way that those conversations always derail if you haven’t seen the movie. So if I’m remotely familiar with a well-known movie I’ll generally just say that I’ve seen it. Yes this creates awkward situations sometimes, but generally it works well for me.

The latest catch up classic that arrived in my mailbox was Annie Hall. Which I could tell from the opening scene I was going to love:

I had high expectations from this movie, not only because it’s one of the few comedies to ever win the Best Picture Oscar, and because I basically want to grow up to be Diane Keaton.

It took me a long time to give Woody Allen a chance, because by the time I was old enough to really be aware of him, he had already left Mia Farrow (whom I adore) for her daughter (which is still probably the creepiest tabloid story I’ve ever had to force myself to get over.) But whenever I heard a quote from Annie Hall (which was often it gets quoted a lot) I felt like I was going to love it.

And I was right…there is something incredibly charming about Allen’s neuroses and the universe he has created which makes them seem utterly justified. There’s a great blending of honest emotion and craziness. I especially love the scene towards the end where he starts talking to random people on the street about how much he loves and misses Annie and they all just know what’s going on. It’s absurd of course, but it also fits so well with the worldview Allen has put forth; for him everything revolves around his own personal problems so naturally the passerby know where Annie is.

It also is chock full of amazing cameos. Definitely worth the classic distinction!

One thought on “Classics from the Queue: Annie Hall

  1. Pingback: Best Picture Baking Project: Annie Hall | I Get a Bit Obsessive

Leave a Reply

