Weekly Adventure: Robbie Fulks and Kelly Hogan at The Hideout

I’ve written before about my love for both The Hideout and Kelly Hogan, and my trip there last night to hear her, as the guest performer in fellow country singer Robbie Fulks’ weekly show, only confirmed it.

First, The Hideout is all decked out for the holidays, which means it is decorated with construction paper chains, which is exactly how I would have thought they would decorate, if I ever thought about it before.

Photo: Julia Davidson

Photo: Julia Davidson

But kitschy/hipstery charm of The Hideout aside, last night’s show was essentially just a great celebration of folk-country and fun. Both Fulks and Kelly, I think I’ve listened to I Like To Keep Myself in Pain enough times to be on a first name basis, are true masters. Fulks’s classic country, almost bluegrass quick guitar picking and Kelly’s power house voice, which never fails to give me actual chills, blended really well. And the set list was a  great balance of classic country songs, Kelly’s new music, and a few unexpected gems like a soulful cover of “Carolina On My Mind” and a shout out to everyone’s favorite ‘soap opry’ Nashville  with a cover of “Fade Into You.”

Photo: Julia Davidson

Photo: Julia Davidson

They also had a delightful rapport that reminded me of old variety shows. I would love for the two of them to have a variety show, or at the very least an album together.

Also, just because I feel like I should explain, Kelly came up on stage and said “I’m sorry I usually dress up, but I just got back from tour and the van drove away” with her clothes… hence “Senior Dogs”

Photo: Julia Davidson

Photo: Julia Davidson

One thought on “Weekly Adventure: Robbie Fulks and Kelly Hogan at The Hideout

  1. Pingback: Weekly Adventure: Austin City Limits Festival 2015 | I Get a Bit Obsessive

Leave a Reply

