Award Show Round Up: SAG Awards 2013

There was a crazy rain/ice/wind/slush storm in Chicago yesterday evening, which cut out Justin and Kristin’s cable (aka my award show hook up). Fear not, we were able to find it illegally streaming on-line, with only a few hiccups – I had to catch a couple of speeches on YouTube this morning, but I was able to enjoy most of the show. And because God likes to laugh at us their cable came back right as the final credits started to roll…

Anyway my top moments:

1. The awkward “I’m an actor” openings – I love them even when they’re cheesy or trying too hard, but I think Hal Holbrook might have been one of my all time favorites.

2. DOWNTON!!! (I know last night’s episode was the worst thing ever I’m sorry.)

We all thought Homeland was going to take Best Ensemble in a Drama series right? And it’s probably actually a better show, but I adored seeing the few of them who were there (hey there, Allen Leech) be so shocked to win. I love that show, and I loved seeing the below stairs folks all glammed up. Also the fact that they have a 22 actor ensemble is insane.

3. Tina Fey is adorable.

And I’m all for a 30 Rock victory lap, though Alec Baldwin really didn’t need an 8th Actor.

4. An interesting race for Best Actress at the Oscars

After splitting the honor at the Globes (even though let’s be honest Silver Linings Playbook isn’t a comedy), Jennifer Lawrence pulled ahead of Jessica Chastain last night. I liked both of their performances, so I won’t be upset if either of them win, and I’m excited about the suspense this creates.

5. Argo clinched Best Picture for the Oscars

Obviously it’s not a sure thing, but I didn’t really think of this as an ensemble movie. I honestly figured Silver Linings would pull a Help, and take this one. But if the actors are voting for Affleck’s movie I feel like it’s the obvious favorite. But that begs the question of who is going to win that strange Best Director category?

Also I really liked Ben’s speech – it was almost like they scripted it to end the show.

Now the important thing – dresses:

Jessica Chastain in Alexander McQueen (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

Amanda Seyfried in Zac Posen (Photo Credit: Kevin Mazur/WireImage)

Sophie McShera (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

Jennifer Garner in Oscar de la Renta (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

Kaley Cuoco in Romona Keveza (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

Melanie Lynskey (Photo Credit: Matt Sayles/Invision/AP)

One thought on “Award Show Round Up: SAG Awards 2013

Leave a Reply

