Weekly Adventure: Kelly Hogan at the Green Mill

SAM_0731

I know some of you are probably thinking “really Kathryn? You’re going to write about Kelly Hogan again?” Yes, I am, because she is amazing, and I will go see her perform whenever possible, and I will try as hard as I can to get all of you to listen to her too.

Just in case you are new to the blog, here’s her singing what she describes as the “saddest song ever written about gardening” (it’s one of two amazing Magnetic Fields songs that she sang on Friday night)

I’m not going to go on and on about how much I love her, I did that plenty with the random people Madison and I sat with at the show on Friday. But I will say that her between song banter is always so much fun – I am officially referring to myself as “a broke individual” like it is a disability diagnosis from now on.

This was the first time I saw her perform with Nora O’Connor, who I once saw sing with Andrew Bird at The Hideout Block Party, and is amazing and should be more famous so listen to her too.

SAM_0733

This show was cool too because it was Kelly’s Green Mill debut (I think), and that venue is so rich in Chicago and musical history that it felt like such an event to see her sing there.

SAM_0728

A few notes on the Green Mill. 1- It is haunted, but I didn’t see a ghost, which I was disappointed by. 2-It gets really crowded, the only time I had been there before Alyssa, Julia, and I had to stand and were repeatedly hushed by the staff. (Which happened again at Kelly’s show, but I can say now that if you’re sitting in the front it can be hard to hear the performers if people are talking at all in the back). If you want to sit get there an hour before the show, if you want to sit actually in front of the stage – get there even earlier.

What? You want another Kelly cover of a Magnetic Fields song, well OK (we did a crowd sing along of this, I almost cried.)

 

One thought on “Weekly Adventure: Kelly Hogan at the Green Mill

  1. Pingback: Weekly Adventure: Austin City Limits Festival 2015 | I Get a Bit Obsessive

Leave a Reply

