Award Show Round Up: Oscars 2013

Yesterday was my favorite holiday of the year – Oscar Sunday. (Before you judge me at least it’s celebrating actual achievement in something, in theory.) Overall I was not a huge fan of Seth MacFarlane as host – I mean he did what I expected, he was crass and a little scattered, but he can sing. And well he sang a lot, because the producers of this year’s show seemed to think they were producing the Tony’s – which is OK with me in that I love the Tony’s, but in a year when one musical came out to just up and decide that the show needs 18 musical numbers is a bit odd, even to me. But whatever because it meant Aaron Tveit was on the Oscar telecast singing with Eddie Redmayne and Hugh Jackman – which basically means I can die happy now:

Also as Justin pointed out last night, huge shout out to whoever blocked the Cosette/Marius/Eponine part of this number, the emphasis on Sam Barks and choice to literally push Amanda Seyfreid out of the frame, was perfect. (Because Cosette is pointless, if you’re just finding this blog.)

Also – Adele has an Oscar!

Now we just need to get her a Broadway show and a TV special – because that woman needs an EGOT.

Is it just the fact that she’s my age (OK fine a year younger than me) that makes me feel like Jennifer Lawrence is the most relatable “A-Lister” to come along in long time? I mean I totally would have fallen up those stairs, I frequently fall up stairs and I am never wearing a ball gown/accepting an Oscar when I do it…

Are you sick of me talking about Daniel Day-Lewis yet? I don’t care listen to this speech and then try to tell me he’s not one of the best humans…

The only real surprise I guess was Ang Lee winning Best Director, and although I have a lot of (mostly negative feelings) about Life of Pi, it was ably directed, and I love his earlier work so I’ll just say I’m happy for him, but really I’m still confused at the Affleck snub.

But whatever because the Academy remains fundamentally predictable (in a way that I love mind you) so this happened:

(I’m also very happy for Anne Hathaway – though apparently we’re all supposed to hate her now, but I don’t understand why and refuse. But her dress was weird.)

And now gowns!

Jessica Chastain in Armani Prive (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

Stacy Keibler in Naeem Kahn

 

Jennifer Aniston in Valentino (Photo Credit: Getty)

Naomi Watts in Armani Prive (Photo Credit: Jason Merritt/Getty Images)

Olivia Munn in Marchesa

 

Sally Field in Valentino (Photo Credit: John Shearer/Invision/AP)

Octavia Spencer in Tadashi Shoji (Photo Credit: Getty)

Alicia Vikander in Elie Saab (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

 

Sandra Bullock in Marchesa (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

3 thoughts on “Award Show Round Up: Oscars 2013

    • I figured! And thanks so much for reading. I love lace so I was a big fan of that particular trned last night. And I completely agree about Sandra Bullock’s dress, beautiful.

Leave a Reply

