Bonus Adventure: A Night of Love: Poetry, Performance & Art Inspired by Rumi

I love the Sufi poet Rumi, I know I’m not breaking any ground by professing my love for the man who wrote some of the most inspired love and spiritual poetry ever, but it was still a treat last night to get celebrate him last night. The night, at the Fulton Collective space, in a converted warehouse off of Damen, was a co production of Danz Theater Chicago, and The Guild Literary Complex. The premise was art inspired by the words of Rumi, and the real joy of the night was the variation of what they came up with; from a same-sex tango at a Pride parade to a long form improv scene involving revolving couples with a failure to communicate.

I wasn’t sure if I was going to blog about the event, because it was a single night event, but I just really wanted to one point you towards the poets of the Guild Complex because they were awesome. And give you this poem from Rumi:

 

The minute I heard my first love story

I started looking for you,

not knowing how blind that was.

Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere.

They’re in each other all along.

It was a one-night performance, which was a preview of a sort for the Danz Theater’s new work Touch that will be premiering in May, and I’m pretty excited to check it out now.

One thought on “Bonus Adventure: A Night of Love: Poetry, Performance & Art Inspired by Rumi

  1. Pingback: Non-Requried Reading: Hana’s List | I Get a Bit Obsessive

Leave a Reply

