Non-Required Reading: Julia’s List pt. 2

If you’re just joining us…today’s post is a continuation of my friend Julia’s favorite books she read in high school when she wasn’t being assigned. You can read the first part here. She joked on Facebook last week that her list explains “how she got so weird.” While I don’t agree that she’s weird, the coolest part of this project for me has been tracing certain things about the people I know now back to the things they loved as teenagers. And voracious reading is definitely something Julia have in common, this is still just part 2 of 3…

The Sword in the Stone by T.H. White (also one of my favorites)

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

Also recommended by Charlie.  

The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Julia’s Note: I know it was on Kristin’s list, but it was the only thing that made me okay with the idea of graduating from high school.

 

Fever 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson

Julia’s Note: Really good historical fiction.

The Hot Zone by Richard Preston

Julia’s Note: Really good, pretty gross, about the Ebola virus. But trust me, it’s great. Also I think the only non-fiction on my list.

I think it might be the first non-fiction on any one’s list so far…I’m not sure what that says about us…

Eva by Peter Dickinson

Julia’s Note: Sci-fi novel about a girl whose body is badly injured in an accident, so her doctors transplant her consciousness into the body of a chimpanzee. Kinda freaky, but really good.

Sherlock Holmes stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

 

The Dragonriders of Pern series by Anne McCaffery

 Julia’s Note: I was really, really into fantasy books about dragons.

The Watsons Go to Birmingham – 1963 by Christopher Paul Curtis

Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor (I had completely forgotten about this book, but I also loved it.)

Number the Stars by Lois Lowry

Somehow I never put together before that The Giver and Number the Stars were written by the same person. See how educational this series has been? I’d love to see what your list could teach me…send it to igetabitobsessive@gmail.com

One thought on “Non-Required Reading: Julia’s List pt. 2

Leave a Reply

