Ten Songs for Your Gloomy Weekend

It was pretty nice here in Chicago for 5 whole days and then last night as I was walking home from the train I could literally feel the winds shift. And we have a chilly, rainy weekend ahead of us. Coincidentally my most recent list of 10 songs I’m obsessed with fits the weather pretty well (with a couple of exceptions and I’m sure you can enjoy it no matter the weather, as I composed it when it was still 80 degrees here…)

Back on the Bottle – Lydia Loveless

Yep I’m still not sick of her. I also just love her awkward introduction in this video.

You Are the Best Thing – Adam Chanler-Berat cover

I’ve been in a musical theater mood lately, and he is one of my favorite Broadway actors. I heard this version of the song before I’d heard the original (by Ray La Montange) which is excellent, but this cover pops into my head all the time. Also this one time, I met him:

adam cb and me

Not Ready to Make Nice – The Dixie Chicks

The Voice is back and another of my favorite Broadway actors, Sasha Allen, is on this season! She auditioned with this song, and while her performance was amazing I am a sucker for Natalie Maines’ voice on this one.

Carey – Joni Mitchell

This is one of my all-time favorite songs, something about it just makes me so happy. And I love that whoever put the titles on this video misspelled the title of the song.

Read All About It – Emeli Sande

Emeli was on Sound Opinions a couple of weeks ago and performed this song, that made me cry at her concert this fall. It’s just so anthemic and pretty; it feels like a call to arms.

Fire – Bruce Springsteen

I’ll admit that I first learned about this song on Glee (back when Kristin Chenoweth used to drop by), but this video of Bruce live is one of the hottest things ever.

Austin – Blake Shelton

So The Voice being back has sent me back to my country playlists, and my love for the old-school Blake, mullet and all. But seriously, I love this song though I hope the girl at the end has caller-ID otherwise she’d be declaring her love to everyone that called her. (Sometimes I over think things…)

Mama’s Broken Heart – Miranda Lambert

On the subject of Blake Shelton, here’s his wife, and my favorite thing playing on country radio right now.

Chocolate – The 1975

A Confessions of a Music Snob recommendation recently. I had never heard of this band before, apparently they are British, and this song has me hooked. (Which is an apt metaphor I guess as this song is about addiction…)

Shiksa Goddess – from The Last Five Years

What’s that? You didn’t get enough Norbert Leo Butz in yesterday’s post, well OK here’s another one.

Leave a Reply

