Non-Required Reading: Miró’s List pt. 1

I think I’ve discussed all my real philosophical reasons that I’ve enjoyed collecting all my friend’s favorite books from high school. But this week I confess that they’ve also just been the easiest posts to put together. I made all my friends write lists and then I just Google Image searched the cover images. Well this week my friend Miró, a marketing professional and blogger in Austin, TX, took all the work out of it, and put together a Pinterest board of all her favorite covers  because as she said in an e-mail  “the book covers are an important part of the memory for me.” Which is an emotional attachment to books as objects that I can completely understand, and an excuse for me to even less work for this series this week…

Anyway here is the first half of her wonderful (and a bit lengthy) list:

Time Stops for No Mouse by Michael Hoeye

The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson

Vintage Children's Book---Ballet Shoes---Hardcover by Noel Streatfield-Series

Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfield (the first in a series)

Homer Price by Robert McCloskey

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankenweiler by E. L. Konigsburg

Flipped by Wendelin van Draanen

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

(Also recommended by Julia.)

Hoot by Carl Hiaasen

Stay tuned for the second half of her list next week. And definitely check out her blog too, it’s so good it makes me feel lazy.

Also I’m almost out of lists to post! If you’ve been thinking about sending me one, you should e-mail it to igetabitobsessive@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

