Ten Songs for My Busy Week

I know it hasn’t been as long as usual in between playlist posts, but I’ve been listening to a lot of good stuff lately, and I’m going to a lot of theater/movies this week and didn’t want the whole blog to be reviews. So here, have some songs:

We Own the Night – fun. covering Lady Antebellum

One of my favorite pop bands covering one of my favorite songs by one of my favorite country bands – what’s not to love?

Try Again – Big Star

When I was at the Music Box last week I saw a trailer for a documentary about Big Star. I can’t wait to see it, and I’m grateful for the excuse to listen to #1 Album.

 

Boys Round Here – Blake Shelton

Now, before you judge me, let me say that I am fully aware that this song is stupid. Really stupid, and probably actually bad, but I really enjoy the little joke about the Dougie & Kentucky. That’s the whole reason this song is on here.

Love Comes to Everyone – George Harrison

Sometimes I like to think of myself as a hippie. When I do, I listen to a lot of George Harrison.

Everything Has Changed – Taylor Swift feat. Ed Sheeran

The song is fine, but I’m in love with this video, especially the adorable hipster children doing yoga.

I’m A Keeper – The Band Perry

This song is my new mantra. Seriously. I cannot stop listening to it. (I especially love this live version, Kimberly Perry just has so much sass.)

Stepsister’s Lament – from the 1997 TV version

Because I’ve had this song in my head for reasons I can’t really figure out. And because I’m obsessed with the strange “color-blind” casting of this movie. I’m all for diversity, but there’s no world where Bernadette Peters gave birth to both of these daughters…

Right as Rain – Adele

This is my cleaning music, or as it’s been hot out this is my piling things up to clean them up later music.

Lookin’ For a Good Time – Lady Antebellum

Their ballads are great and everything, but I love when Lady A has fun.

Chelsea Dagger – played the CSO

Because it’s a damn good day to be a Chicagoan.

2 thoughts on “Ten Songs for My Busy Week

Leave a Reply

