Weekly Adventure: Rogers & Hammerstein’s Concert in Millennium Park

millennium park

Sorry I’ve been kind of been missing from the blog this week. I’ve mostly just been watching a lot of Doctor Who in front of my tower fan. (And watching the US beat Costa Rica in the Gold Cup!) Which I couldn’t think of a way to make that interesting for all of you. But last night the Grant Park Music Festival (which confusingly takes place in place in the Pritzker Pavilion in Millennium Park) presented a night of Rogers & Hammerstein music, and while there was rain and sauna-esque heat, it was lovely.

There are few things I love more than a full chorus singing R&H’s songs. (Especially when one of the soloists is Rebecca Luker). I, of course, don’t have video of last night, so here are some of my favorite recordings of the songs that they did:

“Oh What A Beautiful Morning” from Oklahoma

The Hugh Jackman version is wonderful too…

“Soliloquy” from Carousel

As good as they were last night, nothing will ever beat Gordon MacRae for me.

“Shall We Dance” from The King & I

I don’t really have a favorite version of this show, I just loved the families standing up and dancing to it in the park last night.

“Edelweiss” from The Sound of Music

Yes, I know that isn’t really Christopher Plummer singing, but as Justin said last night “this movie is my childhood.” And when they led the whole crowd in a sing-a-long of this one I may have gotten chills. I love communal singing.

And then for their encore:

“You’ll Never Walk Alone” from Carousel

Because apparently they needed me to cry. (Also I just learned from Google, that this is the fan anthem for the Liverpool football club, which makes about as much sense as “Chelsea Dagger”)

Leave a Reply

