Annual East Coast Adventure!

I know this post is a bit late, but the reentry to work has been a bit insane. Most of my (absolutely lovely) week off was spent hanging out with my parents either here:

My parent's backyard in New Haven, CT

My parent’s backyard in New Haven, CT

Or here:

My family's Shack in Higganum, CT

My family’s Shack in Higganum, CT

But I did find time in there to do a couple of blog worthy things:

1. Read A Moveable Feast and The Paris Wife

 

I generally detest Ernest Hemmingway, but I sort of fell in love with the idea of him in Paris in Midnight in Paris and reading these books together reaffirmed both of those feelings. Hemmingway was at his best with Hadley, or at least the fictional Hadley Paula McLain has given us.

2. Watching Endeavour 

 

A prequel to Inspector Morse, staring the adorable Shaun Evans. As Miró said last night ” there’s nothing like a period British mystery to distract an American girl from her quarter-life crisis.”

3. LMNOP from Goodspeed Musicals

A New Muzical

That little cottage pictured above is very close to Chester, where Goodspeed has a little mini-theater (apparently in an old knitting needle factory.) Yet somehow my parents and I have never seen a show there before last week. LMNOP is a clever new musical about language and censorship and the power of individual action in the face oppression. And the alphabet.

Also Lilli Cooper = amazing…

4. Peter and the Starcatcher at New World Stages in New York

hanna and peter

My friend Hanna (my host for the absolutely magical NYC leg of my trip) always got to a Broadway show for your joint August birthdays. Technically Peter & the Starcatcher is now off-Broadway, but I’m actually glad that I saw it in a smaller house. This show is so much fun, I literally laughed out loud repeatedly. And though I’m sad I didn’t get to see my favorite Adam Chanler-Berat, the cast I saw was really wonderful.

 

4 thoughts on “Annual East Coast Adventure!

  1. -Their backyard is like a lush jungle – so pretty!
    -When I talked to you last night I don’t think I realized that I had actually finished this season of Endeavour… oh British TV. Make us wait. When is Sherlock coming out again?
    -Love your dress!

    • I know it’s beautiful back there, though some mysterious animal keeps eating the fruit.

      I’ve actually only seen the last episode of Endeavour, so I’m excited to go back and watch the rest…

      And thanks!

  2. Pingback: Bonus Adventure: The Wheel at Steppenwolf | I Get a Bit Obsessive

  3. Pingback: Annual East Coast Adventure – Boston Wedding Edition | I Get a Bit Obsessive

Leave a Reply

