Introducing the Poem of the Day Project – “I dwell in Possibility” by Emily Dickinson

This year I wanted to something to commemorate National Poetry Month (which if you don’t know is April), so I decided to post a poem a day here on the blog. I thought for a second that I might write my own poems for this, but I have a day job and don’t write that quickly. Instead I’ve decided to share some of favorite poems, one each day, for the month of April. I’ve always wanted to do this, but I’m scared of accidentally stealing other writer’s intellectual property, so after some Googling and very informal conversations with some lawyer friends I have decided that I would share some of my favorites that are in the public domain (please see disclaimer at the bottom if this post if you have questions about this.)

Anyway, on to the poetry. I’m starting with one of my all time favorites – Emily Dickinson – another good New England girl like myself who wrote a lot of her poems on bits of scrap paper (which is another grand tradition I continue in my own work.)

 

I dwell in Possibility –

A fairer House than Prose –

More numerous of Windows –

Superior – for Doors –

 

Of Chambers as the Cedars –

Impregnable of Eye –

And for an Everlasting Roof

The Gambrels of the Sky –

 

Of Visitors – the fairest –

For Occupation – This –

The spreading wide my narrow Hands

To gather Paradise –

According to a Google search this is quite a popular one for tattoos and jewelry

(Disclaimer: I’m basing my poem choices on those I understand to be in the public domain. If I’ve made a mistake – which is very possible – and you own the copyright to a poem I have posted please e-mail me at igetabitobsessive@gmail.com and I will take the post down immediately.)

Leave a Reply

