Newly Spring Walking Music

Knock on wood, but the weather the last few days suggests that spring may have finally sprung here in Chicago. I plan on going on a long walk after work tonight to celebrate, here’s some of the music I’ll be playing.

Walk on the Wild Side – Lou Reed

Stare at the Sun – Eleanor Friedberger

(I got to feel really hip this week when Fred Armisen brought her on to play with the house band on Late Night, recently, because I’ve known her for months…)

Low Happening – Howling Bells

I discovered this one, and a lot of other great music on The Belle Jar’s “lady songs” playlist a few weeks ago, which I highly recommend you all check out.

I Wanna Go – Yuna

Another one from that playlist, this was one of those things where I couldn’t believe I hadn’t heard of this woman before, her voice is so distinct and cool.

Holding on for Life – Broken Bells

Mingulay Boat Song – Gaelic Storm

Long time readers of this blog know that I love this band, and see them in concert as often as possible. They’re really fun, but the beauty of their rendition of this song (from their newest album) almost knocked me over when I saw them this past St. Patrick’s weekend. I can’t stop listening to it.

Wildewoman – Lucius

Full credit for  discovering this new theme song goes to Julia, especially for that first line.

The Box – Johnny Flynn

Isaac – Bear’s Den

A bit darker than the rest of the list, but even their sad songs make me happy now since they remind me of this moment:

Bear's Den cirle

 

Icarus – Bastille

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

