Poem of the Day Project: “When I Was one-and-twenty by A.E. Housman”

I’d never read any Housman before trying to find poems for this project, and I love his wit.

Once again – Google Image Search is a strange, strange place

When I was one-and-twenty

     I heard a wise man say,

“Give crowns and pounds and guineas

     But not your heart away;

Give pearls away and rubies

     But I keep you fancy free.”

But I was one-and-twenty

     No use to talk to me.

When I was one-and-twenty

     I heard him say again,

“The heart out of the bosom

     Was never given in vain;

‘Tis paid with sighs a plenty

     And sold for endless rue.”

And I am two-and-twenty,

     And oh, ’tis true, ’tis true.

 

 

 

(Disclaimer: I’m basing my poem choices on those I understand to be in the public domain. If I’ve made a mistake – which is very possible – and you own the copyright to a poem I have posted please e-mail me at igetabitobsessive@gmail.com and I will take the post down immediately.)

Leave a Reply

