Best Picture Baking Project: Annie Hall

annie hall

I love Annie Hall, but I couldn’t think of a dessert that would in any way fit with it, but Google pointed me towards something called “Annie Hall butter cookies,” which are basically just sugar cookies, but they were good.

Had I seen this one before?

Yep, I wrote about finally watching it for the first time a couple of years ago here.

Top 3 observations on this viewing?

  1. It was stranger than I remembered. And I remembered it being pretty strange. But there were so many weird little tangents that I had just completely forgotten about. Like this dinner scene:

2. The cameos make this movie. Christopher Walken’s strange suicidal monologue. This blink and you miss it moment of brilliance from a young Jeff Goldblum:

3. This gag will never fail to make me laugh out loud:

 

What did it beat? Did it deserve to win?

The Goodbye Girl – Which I’ve never seen, but have lied about having seen before, and I have a weird love for Richard Dreyfuss.

Julia – also on the “to-see” list

Star Wars – Hmm, I love that Star Wars got nominated! But Annie Hall is a better film on its own in my brain.

The Turning Point – I’ve never even heard of this, but it is apparently about ballet.

 

Bechdel Test Pass?

Nope. There are multiple named women, but they don’t talk to each other, except for a two second conversation between Alvy’s mother and aunt in a fantasy sequence they don’t talk to each other. (But they aren’t talking about a man in that sequence, so that’s something.)

And it is the movie that gave us this style icon – so we have to give it a few feminist cred points

Annie Hall Butter Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups unsalted butter (softened)
  • 1 ½ cups sugar
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 4 ½ cups unbleached flour
  • ½ tsp salt

Directions

  • Cream together butter and sugar
  • Add egg yolks and vanilla and mix well
  • Whisk together flour and salt
  • Mix flour mixture into the butter mixture
  • Chill dough
  • Preheat oven to 350F
  • Roll onto lightly floured board to thickness of ½”
  • Cut with cookie cutters and place on a cookie sheet
  • Brush cookies with egg wash (one egg + one tablespoon of milk) and sprinkle with sugar crystals
  • Bake for about 12min
  • Remove from oven and let cool
Leave a Reply

