Cover Chain vol. 2

Quick recap: last month I started this project where I connect artists through who has covered who’s music (the easiest way to see the pattern is to just look at the old post, or scroll down I suppose). Anyway, the ultimate goal is to connect back to the original artists (Hozier), but given that the vast majority of the songs on this month’s list were recorded decades before he was even born, it’s clearly going to take awhile. (People just used to record each other’s music more often I think. Also it’s very hard to search for those awesome cover videos I used last time, because you always end up getting some, I’m sure very talented, singer in her bedroom singing the song you were looking for.) Anyway, I’ll try to bring it back around to songs from my lifetime next time. For now, we’re starting here:

“These Boots Are Made For Walking” by Nancy Sinatra covered by Robert Gordon 

“Light My Fire” by The Doors covered by Nancy Sinatra

“Gloria” by Them covered by The Doors

(Side note: This song, though I’m pretty sure it’s the original version, is featured really well in Two Days, One Night.)

“It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue” by Bob Dylan covered by Them 

“Big Yellow Taxi” by Joni Mitchell covered by Bob Dylan

“At Last” by Etta James covered by Joni Mitchell 

“I Got You Babe” by Sonny & Cher covered by Etta James

“You’ve Really Got a Hold on Me” by Smokey Robinson & The Miracles covered by Sonny & Cher

“Get Ready” by The Temptations covered by Smokey Robinson 

“A Song for You” by Leon Russell covered by The Temptations 

And we’re pausing here for now…

Vol. 1

2 thoughts on “Cover Chain vol. 2

  1. Pingback: Cover Chain vol. 3 | I Get a Bit Obsessive

  2. Pingback: Cover Chain vol. 4 | I Get a Bit Obsessive

Leave a Reply

