Poem of the Day: “I from Preludes” by T.S. Eliot

Happy Poetry Month! Although I think we should celebrate poetry every day (and on my Twitter feed you can see that I share Poems of the Day there throughout the year), I’m happy to be resurrecting the series I started last year where I share a pre-1923 (and therefore in the public domain) poem each day in April.

I
The winter evening settles down
With smell of steaks in passageways.
Six o’clock.
The burnt-out ends of smoky days.
And now a gusty shower wraps
The grimy scraps
Of withered leaves about your feet
And newspapers from vacant lots;
The showers beat
On broken blinds and chimney-pots,
And at the corner of the street
A lonely cab-horse steams and stamps.
And then the lighting of the lamps.

T.S. Eliot

(Disclaimer: I’m basing my poem choices on those I understand to be in the public domain. If I’ve made a mistake – which is very possible – and you own the copyright to a poem I have posted please e-mail me at igetabitobsessive@gmail.com and I will take the post down immediately.)

Leave a Reply

