Poem of the Day: “One Face Alone” by Sara Coleridge

Did you know that the guy that wrote The Rime of the Ancient Mariner had a daughter who was also a poet? Neither did I. But I’m making a concious effort to include more women poets in the project this year, and I stumbled across this on one Google search or another. It’s a little old fashioned, but I like the sentiment.

For those of you who don’t know – I use the first image that comes up in search for each poem that isn’t of the poet…sometimes they make more sense than others

ONE face alone, one face alone, These eyes require; But, when that long’d-for sight is shown, What fatal fire Shoots through my veins a keen and liquid flame, That melts each fibre of my wasting frame! One voice alone, one voice alone, I pine to hear; But, when its meek mellifluous tone Usurps mine ear, Those slavish chains about my soul are wound, Which ne’er, till death itself, can be unbound. One gentle hand, one gentle hand, I fain would hold; But, when it seems at my command, My own grows cold; Then low to earth I bend in sickly swoon, Like lilies drooping ’mid the blaze of noon.  (Disclaimer: I’m basing my poem choices on those I understand to be in the public domain. If I’ve made a mistake – which is very possible – and you own the copyright to a poem I have posted please e-mail me at igetabitobsessive@gmail.com and I will take the post down immediately.)

2 thoughts on “Poem of the Day: “One Face Alone” by Sara Coleridge

  1. Pingback: Poem of the Day: “Marriage” by Mary Elizabeth Coleridge | I Get a Bit Obsessive

Leave a Reply

