Annual East Coast Adventure – Boston Wedding Edition

I guess I should say “mostly annual” as I had to skip my trip to New England last summer because I was making my best friend drive me through Oklahoma. But as most of my travel is now dictated by where people I love decide to celebrate their loves, I was very happy to get to roll a quick trip into seeing my parents in Connecticut as well.

I started it out with a nice relaxing evening on my parent’s porch, drinking wine and arguing with my dad:

photoThen we drove out to our family lake house (lovingly referred to as Shack), and on the way my mom and I found the solution to my singledom:

photo (1)

If you can’t read the sign – it says HaddamSingles.com – I don’t know why they need their own site out there, but who knows

I have the best view in the world:

photo (2)

Salt was far too busy guarding me while I read to pose for photos

Salt was far too busy guarding me while I read to pose for photos

I made my parents take me to one of my favorite restaurants in the whole world – The Blue Oar on the Connecticut River:

photo (4) My mom and I tried to get my dad to take our picture, this was frame 10:

photo (5)

I’m not sure why Mom looks vaguely terrified

The sky was beyond-words-gorgeous:

photo (6) While the rest of the country watched Trump make a Trump of himself and Jon Stewart sign off, we did this…

photo (7) The next day I jumped on the train at New London to head up to Boston, and remembered why I love New England so much in the summer:

photo (8)

Cool public art on the side of the Kingston, RI train station

Cool public art on the side of the Kingston, RI train station

When I arrived, starving, I wandered into Cafe Jaffa for an excellent kebab:

photo (10)

The view from Miró and my gorgeous hotel room at the Sheraton Boston

The view from Miró and my gorgeous hotel room at the Sheraton Boston

(We were there for Alexis and Tucker’s wedding, but I’m not putting up a lot of wedding pictures here, more will be up on Facebook when I get my broken laptop back, but this isn’t a wedding blog…so…)

The day after a really fun rehearsal dinner Miró and I grabbed delicious brunch at the Trident Bookstore and Cafe:

photo (12) And then we walked around Harvard, because why not?:

I mean it's gorgeous

I mean it’s gorgeous

OK, maybe a couple of wedding pictures (the venue was the gorgeous Moraine Farm in Beverly, MA)

photo (14)

The Harry Potter-esque wedding reception tent

The Harry Potter-esque wedding reception tent

One thought on “Annual East Coast Adventure – Boston Wedding Edition

  1. Pingback: Weekly Adventure: Spring Break Getaway Edition | I Get a Bit Obsessive

Leave a Reply

