What’s the Opposite of Bro Country?

Ironically, I’ve been listening to less country music since moving to Texas. Mostly, I just haven’t been listening to the radio as much now that I have internet access in my apartment, but I was also getting really sick of the repetitiveness of modern country radio. It seemed like every other song (if not more than that) was a generically attractive white dude singing about a girl in cutoffs in his truck. I like some of those songs so don’t get me wrong, but I was a little bored. So I made you all (and myself) a list of some good girl country (some recent, some classic – some I know I’ve put on playlists before, but I don’t care.)

Takin’ Pill – Pistol Annies

Chris Isaak – Lydia Loveless

Truth no. 2 – Dixie Chicks

Sleeper Awake – Kelly Hogan 

(This one may not be a country song, but I don’t care. I needed to include Kelly Hogan…)

Looking Back Now – Maggie Rose

Biscuits – Kacey Musgraves 

The Blade – Ashley Monroe 

The Bug – Mary Chapin Carpenter

Stand Beside Me – Jo Dee Messina

I Beg Your Pardon, I Never Promised You A Rose Garden – Lynn Anderson

Rest in peace, Ms. Anderson.

Google Images is pretty brilliant sometimes (Click the image to read the brilliant post that accompanies this image)

One thought on “What’s the Opposite of Bro Country?

  1. Pingback: Weekly Adventure: Austin City Limits Festival 2015 | I Get a Bit Obsessive

Leave a Reply

