Songs I Heard on Dance Floors and Yoga Classes This Summer

It’s hard to believe that it’s already Labor Day Weekend, what I’ve always thought of as the end of Summer (even if the Texan weather doesn’t agree with me for a few more months) and I figured I would make a playlist to send off this wonderful season. I’ve had a lovely (and busy) summer filled with weddings and trips and a lot of yoga. So here’s a list of songs I’ve loved moving to this summer, it might actually be hard to tell which came from DJs and which from yoga teachers, but that’s part of the fun.

I’ve Got My Mind Set On You – George Harrison

Bonus, this video stars a young Alexis Denisof, or as I like to call him Wesley Wyndham-Pryce.

Run Around Sue – Dion 

(OK so this one is from weddings, all three weddings I went to. Not that it’s not a great song to dance to, because it is, but isn’t it a little weird that this song about a woman who cheats on her boyfriend is such a wedding staple?)

Hooked On A Feeling – Blue Swede

It Will Come Back – Hozier 

No Diggity – covered by Shinyribs

Rock the Casbah – The Clash 

I Will Always Love You – Whitney Houston

We Didn’t Start the Fire – Billy Joel 

All I Want for Christmas Is You – Mariah Carey  

Breaking my usually strict no Christmas music outside of holiday time (Thanksgiving-New Year’s Day) because it was actually a super fun song to dance to at a wedding…

Somewhere Over the Rainbow – Israel Kamakawiwo’Ole

When I was kid my family and I used to refer to this as “the happy song,” which I think is a good note to end this summer on…

Until next year…

One thought on “Songs I Heard on Dance Floors and Yoga Classes This Summer

  1. Pingback: Long Weekend Music | I Get a Bit Obsessive

Leave a Reply

