A Month of Adventure: Winter Break

So, I’m back at the ACC desk for my first evening shift of the year after attending my first class of my last (ah!) semester at UT. I realized this morning while getting myself organized for the craziness that is about to start up again that I never wrote a blog update about anything I did on my winter break. And I did a lot. I crossed a quadrant of the country. (Quadrants are how we measure these things right? Sorry, inside joke.) And saw a lot of my favorite people (and missed some others). I’m not going to try to write a play by play of nearly a month long trip, so instead here are pictures, with minimal captions (mostly just to attribute art to its creator.)

IMG_4283

IMG_4287

IMG_4289

IMG_4294

I call this piece, “A Blur of Salt”

IMG_4300

IMG_4309

IMG_4311

Care packages from Portland

IMG_4315

IMG_4320

Post-storm Paddock Lake, WI

IMG_4335

in the North Shore room

IMG_4348

Dancing in the New Year in my old neighborhood

IMG_4356

IMG_4358

IMG_4360

The Field Museum of Natural History

IMG_4364

 

IMG_4380

From “The Greeks” exhibit at The Field Museum

IMG_4381

IMG_4386

 

IMG_4394

From the “Dionysos Unmasked” exhibit at The Art Institute of Chicago

IMG_4398

“Untitled” (Portrait of Ross in L.A.) by Felix Gonzalez-Torres in the Art Institute’s Modern Wing

(This is one of my favorite pieces of contemporary art of all time. You should Google it to find out why. Or even better go see it.) 

IMG_4403

IMG_4407

IMG_4417

“Lifeboat” by Jeff Koons on view as part of the “Surrealism: The Conjured Life” exhibit at the Museum of Contemporary Art

IMG_4424

Museum staff member in the “Run for President” installation by Kathryn Andrews also at the MCA

IMG_4431

Entrance to the “Pop Art Design” exhibit (where photos weren’t allowed) at the MCA

IMG_4439

Leave a Reply

