Award Show Round Up: Academy Awards 2016

Sorry about the delay in getting this posted you guys. I was waiting on the Academy to upload the legal videos of the acceptance speeches to YouTube (I feel like they did it faster last year, but whatever I’ll do what I can and update this post when they’re out.)

As you know, I went with some friends to watch this show at the Violet Crown Cinema in Austin, which was really fun. I highly recommend getting dressed up, drinking champagne and enjoying the Oscars as a communal experience. As for the actual show, my highlights were:

Chris Rock’s opening monologue:

I thought he addressed the controversy well, and managed to be funny at the same time, which is hard. And I liked that he never undercut any individual winner’s moment, but also never let the audience get too comfortable. (Though, to quote Emily Nussbaum on Twitter – “Some thins are about sexism though.” And not to get on my high horse, but as I was talking about with my dad the other day: The problem is not with asking a woman about her clothes.-See my list of pretty dresses at the bottom of this post-It’s about reducing a woman, being celebrated for being at the top of her professional game, to her clothes, designed by someone else and (most likely) chosen by another someone else. That’s a problem. And frankly it’s lazy to pretend that men all wear the same thing because of some inherent trait. I’m not going to go into centuries of feminist theory, but ever think of why the women are asked to wear more ornate clothes Mr. Rock?) Anyway, rant over. He was funny, and I loved the Girl Scouts.

513005816

The night began with a win for Spotlight, which was great and then we had a few hours (seemingly) of people thanking George Miller. This woman was my favorite:

(I didn’t notice while I was watching, but apparently a lot of people didn’t clap for her. Including my nemsis (though he doesn’t know this, and he gave a lovely speech on Sunday – Alejandro González Iñárritu – I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt and say it’s a long walk for her to get to the stage and they were done polite clapping. Also – sorry for another feminist rant – but enough with the headlines calling her a bag lady. She wears what she wants.)

Amid the Mad Max sweep there was this glorious moment:

And this one:

Louis C.K. came out and was funny:


And more importantly, gave an Oscar to Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy, who is a bad ass. (Side note to the Academy orchestra, I know you’re trying to finish the show on-time, but don’t play over someone talking about honor killings. We can all wait 2 extra seconds to get to that – admittedly funny – Kohl’s commercial.)

I fell in love with the Irish winner for Best Live Action Short film:

And was super (happily) surprised that Mark Rylance got to go up on stage and be delightful at the Oscars (a little bummed he didn’t recite a poem though):

(Sorry Sly…)

Bree was adorable as always! And Leo, was pefectly Leo-esque:

And then, I of course, was thrilled that Spotlight took home the big one (I may have shrieked and thrown my arms up in the air, but I was a few glasses of prosseco in at that point):

But, the most emotional part of the night for me, was Lady Gaga’s performance (and Joe Biden’s important words before it):

(Sorry about the weird video…hopefully will have an official one to post soon.)

I’m actually angry that Sam Smith won. (Not because he thinks he’s the 1st openly gay Oscar winner when that is far from the truth, but because his song is forgettable, and what Gaga is singing about is fucking important, and the Academy missed an opportunity for no reason.)

Anyway, this is an akward segue, but there were some really pretty dresses. It was actually hard to chose a manageable number to share:

gettyimages512920744p2016

Cate Blanchett in Armani Prive (Photo Credit: Steve Grantiz/WireImage/Getty Images)

0d644d7c_edit_img_cover_file_16360412_1456704995_gettyimages-51kxdqwx-xxxlarge

Margot Robbie in Tom Ford (Photo Credit: Getty/Tom Williamson)

jennifer-garner-dress-oscars-2016

Jennifer Garner in Versace (Photo Credit: Getty/Jason Merritt)

(Otherwise known as the best ” I refuse to be the ashes.” dress ever.)

88th Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals

Brie Larson in Gucci (Photo Credit: ABC)

(I also liked her after party look – not often someone can pull off head-to-toe pastel velvet.)

olivia-munn-oscars-red-carpet-2016

Olivia Munn in Stella McCartney (Photo Credit: Vogue)

naomi-watts-001-today-160228_9d220a844e9ff3a0480d869753c2fc6b-today-inline-large

Naomi Watts in Armani Prive (Photo Credit: Jason Merritt/Getty Images)

633e60a3_edit_img_cover_file_17268548_1456703891_gettyimages-51yoaqpm-xxxlarge

Saoirse Ronan in Calvin Klein Collection (Photo Credit: Getty/Jason Merritt)

jennifer-jason-leigh-f090b47c-0ea3-46df-a785-c1186a5a48ca

Jennifer Jason Leigh in Marchesa (Photo Credit: Jason Merritt/Getty)

5472d6fa_edit_img_cover_file_16360412_1456702811_gettyimages-51k99ga3-xxxlarge

Daisey Ridley in Chanel Haute Couture (Photo Credit: Getty/Steve Granitz)

 

 

Leave a Reply

