Award Show Round Up: Emmys 2016

Due to the fact that my commute is crazy long right now, and I wanted to eat dinner when I got home, approximately every person on the internet has already shared their thoughts on last night’s Emmy Awards, but whatever. I have thoughts.

The general consensus seems to be that the show was amazing, and at first I found this surprising. It was a good show, and there were some refreshing winners, but was it really that good? But then I thought, this is the Emmys, the bar is so low. The fact that they gave awards to more than one person of color (and 2 women directors!) and managed to pay tribute to people without turning it into a showbiz funeral, was all it really took to make it a success.

Here were my personal highlights:

Jeb! I like the Bushes when they have absolutely no power to over the government. And Jeb seems to have a sense of humor about himself which is nice:

I like Master of Nonebut I loved Alan Yang’s acceptance speech:

KATE MCKINNON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

All speeches that end with “topple the patriarchy” will always be featured on this blog:

Look, I know people will be disappointed by this, but I still haven’t watched Transparent, (I know, I know), but Jeffrey Tambor has always given good acceptance speech:

I have no interest in rehashing the gruesome murder of an innocent woman and her friend, so I haven’t watched The People vs. OJ Simpson, but I’m a little bit in love with Sterling K. Brown after last night and I am A LOT in love with Sarah Paulson:

Patton Oswalt has been put through the wringer this year, so I was happy that he got this recognition.

(Also, would have been happy if any one in that category won.)

For no good reason, the fake rivalry between Jimmy Kimmel and Matt Damon makes me really happy.

And I’m always happy for a Good Will Hunting reference whenever.

As I tweeted last night, I’ve loved Rami Malek for a very long time. (Like since he was on a stupid sitcom with Michael Rappaport long time), but I am so happy the rest of you can see what a delightful weirdo he is.

And, like I said about Modern Family a few years ago, we get it, Game of Thrones is good, they don’t really need anymore Emmys.

Also, dresses! There were a lot of one shoulder looks with cutouts, some more memorable than others.

rs_634x1024-160918171005-634-emmy-awards-arrivals-kerry-washington

Kerri Washington in Brandon Maxwell (Todd Williamson/WireImage)

https3a2f2fblueprint-api-production-s3-amazonaws-com2fuploads2fcard2fimage2f2140732fgettyimages-607572976

Constance Zimmer in Monique Lhuillier (Photo Credit: AFP/Getty Images)

kristen-bell-wearing-zuhair-murad-emmys-2016

Kristin Bell in Zuhair Murad (Photo Credit: Getty/Kevin Mazur)

mandy-moore-copy-77b3902a-6d03-42b1-b2a2-ba9fb1fed117

Mandy Moore in Prabal Gurung (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

Priyanka Chopra

Priyanka Chopra in Jason Wu (Photo Credit: AP)

18emmyredcarpet44-superjumbo

Tina Fey in Oscar de la Renta (Photo Credit: GotCeleb)

18emmyredcarpet33-superjumbo

Angela Bassett in Rene Caovilla (Photo Credit: Robyn Beck/Agence France Presse – Getty Images)

constance-wu-at-68th-annual-primetime-emmy-awards-in-los-angeles-09-18-2016_1

Constance Wu in J. Mendel (Photo Credit: Frazer Harrison/Getty Images)

Leave a Reply

