Awards Show Roundup: Golden Globes 2024

Happy Awards Season! The Golden Globes have long been known to be a bit of a mess, and last night’s show was both a continuation of that tradition and (mostly in terms of who won) a refreshing break from it.

I’m not going to subject you all to any amount of Jo Koy. It was cringey, and once it started to not work he started to throw his writers under the bus. The jokes about Barbie sucked and, in the end I think Taylor’s face says it all.

Honestly, moving on to the good news – Da’Vine Joy Randolph won Best Supporting Actress:

Robert Downey Jr. is getting some flack on film Twitter for beating Charles Melton, but he’s great in Oppenheimer, and he gives a great speech:

I haven’t watched Beef yet, but I absolutely love how emotional Ali Wong got about her win, and I also love that she wore her glasses:

Also, love Steven Yuen, should probably watch the show:

Speaking of shows I still haven’t seen, Succession won a bunch last time (I’m just getting around to The Sopranos right now, TV takes me time.) But, I have loved Matthew Macfadyen for a long time, and it was very fun to watch him win:

As I already said, the host sucked (as in he literally seemed to suck the energy out of the room every time he was on stage), and a lot of the presenters bits were fun but went on a little too long, but I really liked this one in particular:

I really need to see Anatomy of a Fall, Justine Triet seems just son cool:

The Bear is not a comedy, but I love Jeremy Allen White:

Ayo Forever:

Keiran Culkin telling Pedro Pascal to “suck it” was a great reminder, that even though I haven’t watched the show, I am going to miss this band of weirdos on the awards circuit:

Honestly, I won’t be mad if Christopher Nolan sweeps director this year:

Margot Robbie was robbed, I love Emma Stone, she’s very good in Poor Things but this feels like a “most acting” beats “best acting” win – she’s very charming though:

Cillian! Andrew Scott’s joy for Cillian! Ireland! Getting censored for saying “fecking!”

I wish Barbie would have won something other than the made up box office award, but always happy to see Greta holding a statue:

The Bear is the best thing on TV and since I cannot control that they are mischaracterized I will just celebrate that they had Lionel Boyce accept the award:

I might have shared this on the blog before, but one time a woman at a bar told me she thought I was Sarah Snook and I will hold on to that compliment forever:

PAUL GIAMATTI!!!!!!!!!!!!

Eyeroll to Poor Things winning Best Comedy, but I love how Yorgos Lanthimos spent his speech just fanning out at Bruce Springsteen, that’s relatable:

The only time I cried all night was for Lily Gladstone’s perfect speech for her perfect performance:

Past Lives is my best picture of the year, but I can’t be mad at an Oppenheimer win – love Emma Thomas, even though she rambled:

Fashion wise there was a lot of glitter and a lot of randomly placed tulle, some worked better for me than others:

Julianne Moore in Bottega Veneta (Photo Credit: Jon Kopaloff/WireImage)
Issa Rae in Pamella Roland (Photo Credit: Amy Sussman/Getty Images)
Amanda Seyfried in Armani Privé (Photo Credit: Amy Sussman/Getty Images)
Ali Wong in Dior Haute Couture
Natalie Portman in Dior Haute Couture (Photo Credit: Amy Sussman/Getty Images)
Elle Fanning in vintage Pierre Balmain (Photo Credit: Jon Kopaloff/WireImage)
Emma Stone in Louis Vuitton (Photo Credit: Michael Tran/AFP via Getty Images)
Hari Nef in Alexandre Vauthier (Photo Credit: Amy Sussman/Getty Images)
Jennifer Lopez in Nicole + Felicia Couture (Photo Credit: Kevin Mazur/Getty Images)
Florence Pugh in Valentino (Photo Credit: Monica Schipper/GA/The Hollywood Reporter via Getty Images)
Sandra Hüller in custom Louis Vuitton (Photo Credit: Amy Sussman/Getty Images)
Taylor Swift in custom Gucci (Photo Credit: Amy Sussman/Getty Images)

2 thoughts on “Awards Show Roundup: Golden Globes 2024

  1. Thanks for sharing! Love your reviews; we come from different perspectives on movies and you’re so knowledgeable that I love getting your take.

    I don’t get people’s obsession with Barbie. I think it won the only award it deserved.

    I watched recording of the show, was expecting Koy to be much worse based on some reviews. His Taylor Swift joke was funny but it’s unfashionable to do anything but adore TS. His monologue was hit and miss; most of them are.

    Great opportunity to discover movies and TV shows to check out. And most acceptance speeches were mercifully short. Best presenters were Wiig/Ferrell, Liu/Rae and Kaluuya/Steinfeld/Moore.

    And where are pictures of those fabulously dressed men???

    Looking forward to the rest of your award shows reviews!

    • Thank you for reading! I loved Barbie, and didn’t love Poor Things, so I would have preferred it to get Best Comedy over them (though i would have given the prize to The Holdovers if it were up to me.)

      I love Taylor, but I didn’t think his joke was offensive at all, just not that funny. My issue with him was that he wasn’t reading the room and he kept blaming his writers. Not the worst host ever, but uncomfortable to watch.

      Totally agree with your presenters list!

      Menswear isn’t super interesting to me, so the bar is higher to make my list, but I’ll try to keep an open mind going forward this season. There’s a lot of shows to go so we’ll see!

Leave a comment