Best Picture Baking Project: Oliver!

As an Oscars obsessive, this movie always loomed large as “the last musical to win Best Picture” until Chicago broke the streak in 2003. I know I wrote just last week about not feeling drawn to Dickens adaptations, but I did enjoy this “Dickens Dinner Party” site and the dessert, a “Sherry Trifle” seemed appropriately old-time-y and British (plus booze!).

But first, the movie:

Had I seen this one before?

Yes, at least the first half many times when I was a kid.

My mom and I used to sing “Consider Yourself” on walks while swingout our arms exaggeratedly to motivate through tiredness. (This story feels like a good answer to that “tell me a story from your childhood that was very on brand” Twitter meme, but my actual answer is even more so:

Top 3 observations on this viewing?

  1. This movie really holds up as spectacle, the choreography (by Onna White) is great and cinematic (not just a rough translation of the stage). From the first sequence of all of the workhouse boys walking in unison down the stairs it’s clear that White and director Carol Reed had a real vision for the film and it never peters out. I mean come on, this is just undeniably great:

2. Despite his less than powerful vocal performance, Mark Lester is exceptionally cast for his puppy dog eyes (and how small he was). This story only works if you want to protect Oliver, and I did.

3. I had filed the Nancy (Shani Wallis, who looks distractingly like Jane Fonda at points)-Bill Sikes (Oliver Reed) storyline in my head in the Carousel “sometimes when he hits you it feels like a kiss from a star” domestic violence apologist hall of shame, but it was actually a more nuanced depiction of a woman trapped in an abusive situation than I remembered. It still sucks that the woman has to be the tragedy of the piece, but she felt like a real woman struggling and I appreciated that. (The lyrics of her first song, obviously not withstanding.)

What did it beat? Did it deserve to win?

Funny Girl – Another large scale musical extravaganza, a great vehicle for Barbra

Rachel, RachelNever seen it, but it was Joanne directed by Paul, so I assume it’s brilliant

Romeo and Juliet – A classic version of course. We definitely watched this in high school English class and all had to pretend we weren’t seeing the nudity together. It’s not my favorite adaptation though (that’s obviously the unhinged Baz Luhrman)

The Lion in Winter – Sorry Kate, I haven’t seen it

I think this a year most film nerds would give Best Picture to a non-nominee, 2001: A Space Odyssey, but, I don’t like that movie (sorry.) So, I’m going to say that I’m not mad about Oliver! winning. It’s a more visually interesting film than it gets credit for I think.

Bechdel Test pass?

Nope. Though, like I said, Nancy is a more nuanced character than I remembered and her friend Bet (Sheila White) is a good bit player, but they only ever talk about Bill. They do get to do this though:

Now trifle!

Sherry Trifle

Ingredients

  • 1 precooked pound cake
  • 4 tablespoons cream sherry
  • 1 pint strawberries
  • 1 box of strawberry gelatin
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 cups milk or cream
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • Canned whipped cream

Directions

  1. Break or cut the pound cake into 1 in pieces
  2. Quarter the strawberries
  3. Lightly toss cake squares and berries together and line the bottom of a your trifle disk (I used my largest tupperware but a glass bowl works too)
  4. Prepare gelatin according to instructions on box
  5. Drizzle the sherry over the cake and berries
  6. Pour gelatin over the mixture, place in fridge
  7. To make the custard, whisk the egg yolks and corn starch together in a medium sauce pan
  8. Add the vanilla, sugar, and cream or milk, mix well
  9. Place over medium heat, stirring continually until tick (approx. 5-7 min)
  10. Removed from heat and continue stirring for 1 more minute
  11. Let cool then pour over gelatin
  12. Place back in fridge for at least an hour
  13. Place whipping cream and powdered sugar in the bowl of your mixer
  14. Beat until thick whipped cream has formed
  15. Spread over cooled custard
  16. Use canned whip cream (or pastry bag and your whipped cream if you’re fancy) to create textured top cream layer
  17. Optional but fun: serve with a small glass of sherry!

One thought on “Best Picture Baking Project: Oliver!

  1. Pingback: Best Picture Baking Project: Slumdog Millionaire | I Get a Bit Obsessive

Leave a comment